The Norfolk BroadsThe Norfolk Broads
Username Password
Norfolk Broads Weather

Mon, 11 Apr 2016 7:20 am BST- Light Rain
5 Day Forecast

Wind 2.0 mph @ 40°
48.0°F/8.89°C Humidity 93% Pressure 29.65 (S)

Welcome to The Norfolk Broads Forum
This is THE Worlds Largest Forum devoted to the Norfolk Broads, here you can discuss issues about the Norfolk Broads. Or just somewhere to chat with others interested in the Norfolk Broads area.

Please Help Support The Norfolk Broads Forum
OR

The Norfolk Broads Forum / Geeks Korner / Beware BT additional broadband charges without war
login
join
Graphics Off
Search
Forum Members - Book your Hoseasons holiday today, Just call 0345 498 6296

This is a moderated forum Reply to this DiscussionReply to Discussion | Start new discussionNew Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: Beware BT additional broadband charges without war

Similar Threads That Might Help :
BT Broadband Site Availability.| BT, Virgin & Talk Talk - big brother is here| "An additional plug-in is required..."| Additional battery wiring|

-- Page: 1 2 3

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

Paladine
Feb-28-2014 @ 5:13 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mudplug Juggler
Posts: 8238
Joined: Jul 2008
Paladine
          

Add To Ignore List

littlesprite, according to the BT web site the Open Reach box only works with fibre optic cable.

Strowie, don't despair just yet (perhaps later  Smile  ). I'm also 3 miles from my exchange and, with Virgin, rarely got more than 2.5 Mb/s, often below 1 Mb/s. I changed to BT over a year ago and, bearing in mind all estimates of my maximum speed were around 3 Mb/s, I've just done a check and WOW, 4.25 Mb/s.

Is the Better Broadband for Norfolk programme coming to Horning? A 'special' box has just been installed in Catfield and about 90% of households will be able to get Superfast broadband later this year. I'll give you one guess whether I expect to be one of the 10% who won't.

boat-mad
Feb-28-2014 @ 5:28 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 612
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
This unit supposedly speeds up your connection but you do need the new type BT Master line jack which has the detachable piece at the bottom.
http://www.productsandservices.bt.com/consumerProducts/displayTopic.do?topicId=25075&s_cid=btb_FURL_accelerator



Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/

Grendel
Feb-28-2014 @ 5:37 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Lives to Post
Posts: 1436
Joined: Jul 2010
Grendel
          

Add To Ignore List
we are connected to open reach, the fibre optic has to be to the nearest cabinet, from there on it can be copper cable ours is about 400 yards of copper cable from the cabinet.
Grendel

we do the impossible every day,
miracles take a little longer

littlesprite
Feb-28-2014 @ 5:58 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 818
Joined: May 2010
littlesprite
          

Add To Ignore List
Paladine I can't give you the technical details but I definitely have copper cable, I live 1 mile up a country lane (1 of only 3 houses)and the cable is over ground on a wooden pole. I don't know how it works but work it does.

martin

how can such a sleepy paradise create such passion.

Paladine
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:23 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mudplug Juggler
Posts: 8238
Joined: Jul 2008
Paladine
          

Add To Ignore List

I don't know how these things work either. Perhaps Strowie can enlighten us. The blurb I received regarding the Catfield line cabinet makes me think that it's the techie stuff in the cabinet that gets quote, 'fibre enabled', and that sends the data down the relatively short sections of copper cable to the houses at blistering speeds. But I could be totally and completely wrong.

Tanner
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:28 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 367
Joined: Apr 2009
Tanner
          

Add To Ignore List
I have just telephoned BT and complained about the Call ID charge. They have given me another 12 months free!
Regards.....Alan.

Tanner.

boat-mad
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:34 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 612
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
Nice one Alan.  Good on you.

Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/

BroadScot
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:34 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Been Posting For a Long Time
Posts: 1573
Joined: Jul 2005
BroadScot
          

Add To Ignore List
There use to be, dunno if still is, a booster unit attached at the exchange to all Broadband users. I know mine went and BT replaced at the exchange a few years ago.
As you said, Strow should be able to enlighten us all hopefully.

Iain.

Lower your windscreen!!! Ooops
too late!

42 years since first hire and
still coming to The Broads!

GaryCantley
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:42 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Hamster & Screwdriver Keeper
Posts: 7549
Joined: Jul 2005
GaryCantley
          

The "problem" with other companies broadband using BT lines is that they rent so many Gig per month from each exchange. This is then regulated to silly speeds, as Strowager has been experiencing, so everyone gets a fair crack at getting something. Obviously, the only ones not regulated are BT.

Fibre to the Cabinet (FTTC), is just that. It's a fibre line to the green box in your road/village, from there it goes via the old copper line to the house. Depending on how far you are from the cabinet affects the speed you get. Allegedly, Cantley will be enabled at some point this year and I've been told that I should get about 25mbps, about 400 yards from the exchange. Well, I would but there is a catch which I'll come back to in a minute.

FTTP is Fibre To The Property. This is super duper fast as the fibre comes all the way to the house.

I believe, by the way they are described, the Openreach boxes are the replacement of filters (the little white boxes that go into the wall). The boxes are filters but look smarter. Nothing more/less.

Going back to the catch I mentioned earlier. Some of you may be like me and are on an Exchange Only (EO) line. IF you are, despite having FTTC you will NOT get Fibre as your line will go direct to the exchange. BetterBroadbandNorfolk.co.uk are aware of this and are looking into moving this type of property to the cabinets. (I have an email saying that I will be moving to the cabinet later this year. Smile  )

Hope that helps, I'm just relaying info gleaned from others over the last 3/4 months.

Gary.

Cantley
Computers


At the going down of the sun
and in the morning, we will
remember them.

Herbert
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:51 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
River Rat
Posts: 20
Joined: Oct 2013
Herbert
          

Add To Ignore List
Not sure how to do link but just copy & paste link http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/
enter your post code and robert's ya father's brother some good info on there.

Horning has its own exchange, catfield is fed from Potter exchange. Grendel is right its fibre to the cab then copper to the house, i believe BT have the technology to provide fibre optic via drop wire (overhead wire to the house)now which would give optimum performance. But yes you have to watch your bills as they do try it on now and then.

Time to put the red fezz on "je je je.....ha ha" as if by majique it's there.

"If it shines it's mine"

This message was edited by Herbert on Feb-28-14 @ 5:54 PM

Paladine
Feb-28-2014 @ 7:36 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mudplug Juggler
Posts: 8238
Joined: Jul 2008
Paladine
          

Add To Ignore List

Looking round via that link, BT tells me Catfield is served by the Stalham exchange. I don't really care where I'm connected to, if I can get a better speeed.

PAGE: 1 2 3

Home Photo Gallery Days Afloat Contact Us
Chat Room Downloads Norfolk Broads @ Amazon Make My Logo
Shops & Businesses Members Gear Norfolk Broads @ EBay Holiday Calendar
Pub Guide Tide Tables SOS List Popular Threads
2017 Calendar Contest Make A Donation Links Hireboat Info
Norfolk Broads @ CafePress FAQ Broads Quiz Forum Events
Advertise With Us Forum Shop Boating Bits Stickys and FAQs Boating Bits Hirecraft List

 

 

 



Copyright © 2005 Y2KInternet, All Rights Reserved.