The Norfolk BroadsThe Norfolk Broads
Username Password
Norfolk Broads Weather

Mon, 11 Apr 2016 7:20 am BST- Light Rain
5 Day Forecast

Wind 2.0 mph @ 40°
48.0°F/8.89°C Humidity 93% Pressure 29.65 (S)

Welcome to The Norfolk Broads Forum
This is THE Worlds Largest Forum devoted to the Norfolk Broads, here you can discuss issues about the Norfolk Broads. Or just somewhere to chat with others interested in the Norfolk Broads area.

Please Help Support The Norfolk Broads Forum
OR

The Norfolk Broads Forum / Geeks Korner / Beware BT additional broadband charges without war
login
join
Graphics Off
Search
Forum Members - Book your Hoseasons holiday today, Just call 0345 498 6296

This is a moderated forum Reply to this DiscussionReply to Discussion | Start new discussionNew Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: Beware BT additional broadband charges without war

Similar Threads That Might Help :
BT Broadband Site Availability.| BT, Virgin & Talk Talk - big brother is here| "An additional plug-in is required..."| Additional battery wiring|

-- Page: 1 2 3

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

Herbert
Feb-28-2014 @ 6:51 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
River Rat
Posts: 20
Joined: Oct 2013
Herbert
          

Add To Ignore List
Not sure how to do link but just copy & paste link http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/
enter your post code and robert's ya father's brother some good info on there.

Horning has its own exchange, catfield is fed from Potter exchange. Grendel is right its fibre to the cab then copper to the house, i believe BT have the technology to provide fibre optic via drop wire (overhead wire to the house)now which would give optimum performance. But yes you have to watch your bills as they do try it on now and then.

Time to put the red fezz on "je je je.....ha ha" as if by majique it's there.

"If it shines it's mine"

This message was edited by Herbert on Feb-28-14 @ 5:54 PM

Paladine
Feb-28-2014 @ 7:36 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mudplug Juggler
Posts: 8238
Joined: Jul 2008
Paladine
          

Add To Ignore List

Looking round via that link, BT tells me Catfield is served by the Stalham exchange. I don't really care where I'm connected to, if I can get a better speeed.

Strowager
Feb-28-2014 @ 7:49 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mardles sometimes
Posts: 4761
Joined: Aug 2009
Strowager
          

Add To Ignore List
Thanks for all the feedback to my post, it generally seems to back up what I'd heard.

Geof: Satellite Broadband would certainly be a big boost, but the installation costs and the monthlies are a very large increase on BT Broadband, especially when you have to pay for cable telephone service as well. It would be quite a strain on the pension !!

Paladine: That's reassuring, it equates quite well to the speed difference between my Talktalk and my Neighbours BT, slightly faster, and consistent.

Alan: The BT Broadband Accelerator disconnects the "third wire" in home installations, to avoid capacitance interference of the high speed digital signals. Historically, telephone wiring in houses between the phones had three wires, because calling used to be with AC bells, and dials sent pulses, rather than tones. The third wire was therefore needed to stop "bell tinkle whilst dialing". You can achieve the same effect as the accelerator box for free, by just disconnecting the third wire, which I did quite a while ago. It's certainly worth trying, but it didn't boost the speed for me though Frown  ...

Paladine: Yes, you're right, and Gary beat me to it with the FTTC and FTTP definitions.

Fibre to the cabinet effectively brings the exchange much nearer so will improve speeds, and is very cost effective for BT. One hair-thickness strand of fibre optic can handle unlimited broadband traffic for the hundreds of houses connected through that cabinet.

A very thin single strand of fibre optic can carry simultaneous voice phone conversations for every person on this planet...





This message was edited by Strowager on Feb-28-14 @ 6:52 PM

Garriannus
Feb-28-2014 @ 8:04 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Knows Their Stuff
Posts: 111
Joined: Jun 2013
Garriannus
          

Add To Ignore List
This thread was brought to my attention by the title:

"Beware BT additional broadband charges without war"

I too have had problems with hidden charges from BT but at least they haven't resorted to armed conflict with their customers - yet.

Charlie
Feb-28-2014 @ 8:38 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Lives to Post
Posts: 1423
Joined: Oct 2006
Charlie
          

Add To Ignore List
I've just checked my bt account only to find that they have upped my monthly direct debit by £12 a month without checking with me despite the fact that I was consistently in credit at the end of every quarter by at least £20. I tried to reduce it down again but their website will only let me bring it down by £1.50, claiming that is the minimum. I tried to ring them about it but could find no way of getting through to a human being. It's all automated, press this, say that...

I already knew about the 1571 (which incidentally they will assume that you want and will charge you for, even if you've only ever used it once) and the caller display but their other charges seem to be going through the roof.

Charlie

8 x forum girly swot & Official Aston
Anorak

Siddy
Feb-28-2014 @ 9:28 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 935
Joined: Aug 2009
Siddy
          

Add To Ignore List
Thanks for the heads up on this will check my 2 accounts out tomorrow.
One on normal adsl with line rentle paid for the year.

2nd on fibre 30meg line with line rent paid for year, we are 750rds yards away from the green box. I have homehub5 and they swapped the white wall box so no need for the openreach box as well as hub. No filters used.

As a ex BT broadband user 8 years ago Ofcom help me kick them out after ripping me off last time.

The 2nd line is this for the net phone attached to the older homehub, it was a cracking system and very clear.

Siddy

boat-mad
Feb-28-2014 @ 10:04 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 612
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
Strowager hi,

I know that the master line jack only actually requires 2 wires connected as it has capacitor/components that create the ringing.  One wire to terminal 2 and one to terminal 5.  The 3rd wire is used to extend the ringing to other telephones that you may have and this uses terminal 3.  Regardless of Loop Disconnect dialling or DTMF the 3rd wire is required or the extension telephones will not ring.  I realise the 3rd wire is not required when using the original rotary dial phones as the components are within. Also cordless phone extensions do not require the 3rd wire but I also have ordinary DTMF phones.
I already have one of these accelerators but have the old style line jack.  I do have a new type master that I can be naughty and fit but as I'm ok with my broadband speed I may not bother.  I don't fancy paying £90 for BT to install one and I know they will only upgrade for free if your existing master line jack is faulty.

Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/


This message was edited by boat-mad on Feb-28-14 @ 10:41 PM

Siddy
Feb-28-2014 @ 10:31 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 935
Joined: Aug 2009
Siddy
          

Add To Ignore List
They upgrade it on new installs as it replaces the 2nd box required.

Can't fault the install guy he moved our master from bedroom to downstairs and put waterproof repair on the line where it had broke (ok I caught it with trimmers).

Off topic - BT don't give u a static ip which I miss. Also pm me if you've know of a hosting place I can upload my weather station to that easy to use.

Siddy

Strowager
Feb-28-2014 @ 12:02 AM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mardles sometimes
Posts: 4761
Joined: Aug 2009
Strowager
          

Add To Ignore List
quote:"I know that the master line jack only actually requires 2 wires connected as it has capacitor/components that create the ringing.  One wire to terminal 2 and one to terminal 5.  The 3rd wire is used to extend the ringing to other telephones that you may have and this uses terminal 3.  Regardless of Loop Disconnect dialling or DTMF the 3rd wire is required or the extension telephones will not ring.  I realise the 3rd wire is not required when using cordless phone but I also have ordinary DTMF phones"


The BT public phone network still uses the traditional voltages from 60 years ago, a steady 50v DC for speech transmission, and 80 volts AC for the ring tone, which was needed to energise the AC bellset that was fitted in those days.

The connection from the house to the exchange for direct lines has always been just two wires, and the internal wiring within the house between the phones utilised a third wire to transmit the AC ringtone to the extensions.

99% of modern phones use electronic sounders instead of AC bells, and they just detect the incoming 80v AC ringing signal on the A & B "pair" and the circuitry makes the phone ring or warble etc..

So, the third wire can be safely disconnected at the master socket as long as none of the extension phones have traditional AC bells.



boat-mad
Mar-01-2014 @ 1:25 AM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 612
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
Strowager sorry I do not mean to undermine you but if I disconnect the 3rd wire to my warbling phones they will cease to warble.
You are obviously very experienced and know what you are talking about but I can only tell you what happens with my phones.

Have a good night.

Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/

Regulo
Mar-01-2014 @ 1:34 AM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mardles sometimes
Posts: 2679
Joined: Jun 2008
Regulo
          

Add To Ignore List

quote:"......
80 volts AC for the ring tone
......."


Oooh, come on Strow, you know ringing tone and ringing current are two separate entities!!!!
Evil Grin

What? Me? Pedantic? Never!!!

Regards, Ray.

It's the 21st century . . . so where's my nuclear-powered flying car, then?

PAGE: 1 2 3

Home Photo Gallery Days Afloat Contact Us
Chat Room Downloads Norfolk Broads @ Amazon Make My Logo
Shops & Businesses Members Gear Norfolk Broads @ EBay Holiday Calendar
Pub Guide Tide Tables SOS List Popular Threads
2017 Calendar Contest Make A Donation Links Hireboat Info
Norfolk Broads @ CafePress FAQ Broads Quiz Forum Events
Advertise With Us Forum Shop Boating Bits Stickys and FAQs Boating Bits Hirecraft List

 

 

 



Copyright © 2005 Y2KInternet, All Rights Reserved.