The Norfolk BroadsThe Norfolk Broads
Username Password
Norfolk Broads Weather

Mon, 11 Apr 2016 7:20 am BST- Light Rain
5 Day Forecast

Wind 2.0 mph @ 40°
48.0°F/8.89°C Humidity 93% Pressure 29.65 (S)

Welcome to The Norfolk Broads Forum
This is THE Worlds Largest Forum devoted to the Norfolk Broads, here you can discuss issues about the Norfolk Broads. Or just somewhere to chat with others interested in the Norfolk Broads area. In 2015 forum members spent 2,048 days afloat on the Broads

Please Help Support The Norfolk Broads Forum
OR

The Norfolk Broads Forum / Geeks Korner / Beware BT additional broadband charges without war
login
join
Graphics Off
Search
Forum Members - Book your Hoseasons holiday today, Just call 0345 498 6296

This is a moderated forum Reply to this DiscussionReply to Discussion | Start new discussionNew Discussion << previous || next >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: Beware BT additional broadband charges without war

Similar Threads That Might Help :
BT Broadband Site Availability.| BT, Virgin & Talk Talk - big brother is here| "An additional plug-in is required..."| Additional battery wiring|

-- Page: 1 2 3

book mark this topic Printer-friendly Version  send this discussion to a friend  new posts last

boat-mad
Feb-28-2014 @ 1:21 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 608
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
As many may be aware through TV (not BT) that the BT caller ID (displaying the caller’s number) was a free service but is now charged at £5.25 per quarter.

Some may not be aware but BT broadband came with a 2nd telephone line. No line rental was charged for this additional broadband line and calls were free evenings and weekends.  BT never informed all affected customers but they have now added an additional £10.50 per quarter line rental for this line.

I feel it is totally under handed of BT to introduce these charges without first informing their customers.

I have now cancelled this line.  It does not affect you broadband connection.
You can cancel the broadband telephone line here.
http://www.broadband.bt.com/bb-talk/?s_cid=con_FURL_mybbtalk/cancel&s_cid=con_FURL_bbtalkcancel

I don’t know if all BT Broadband customers have this additional broadband line but it may be worth checking your BT phone bill as you may now be paying for something you don’t use or maybe never even knew you had.  

Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/


This message was edited by boat-mad on Feb-28-14 @ 2:50 PM

Regulo
Feb-28-2014 @ 1:28 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mardles sometimes
Posts: 2619
Joined: Jun 2008
Regulo
          

Add To Ignore List
I was warned in December by e-mail, and post. However, the link in the e-mail didn't work (and probably still doesn't), so I had to phone through to get this stopped. Perhaps BT were hoping people would forget about it, after a week or so!

Worth mentioning also that anyone who had free 1571 facility, will also now be charged.

Regards, Ray.

It's the 21st century . . . so where's my nuclear-powered flying car, then?

boat-mad
Feb-28-2014 @ 1:36 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 608
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
Regulo hi,

Thanks for response.

Maybe I can except a little bit of responsibility as I don't use my BT e-mail address.
Having said that I feel that with something as important as this it only fair that they should send out letters to all the affected customers and I did not receive one.

I also know that not all BT customers were informed about 1571 facility and CPND charges as it was discussed on Breakfast TV.
Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/


This message was edited by boat-mad on Feb-28-14 @ 1:43 PM

BroadAmbition
Feb-28-2014 @ 1:39 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mudplug Juggler
Posts: 11027
Joined: Jan 2006
BroadAmbition
          

Add To Ignore List

Thanks for the heads up, I'll get MrsG to look into it


Griff

'Broad Ambition'
Queens Diamond Jubilee Thames Pageant 2012 - H91

'Dreams do come true' - Afloat at last 06-10-07

Forum Manly Swot 30-07-10

www.grifftile.co.uk    DN9

Strowager
Feb-28-2014 @ 2:44 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mardles sometimes
Posts: 4761
Joined: Aug 2009
Strowager
          

Add To Ignore List
Coincidentally, I'm just in the process of returning to BT Broadband.

I don't doubt for one minute that they'll try every devious trick they can to grab extra money, but they are the only answer to my Broadband speed problem.

For 7 years I've been with Tiscali, who've now changed their name to Talktalk. I live in a very rural area, 3 miles from the exchange, so fibre optic provision is not even "under consideration" here, so I'm stuck with copper wire and a very limited range of ISP's, all of which use BT's lines.

Up to now. Talktalk was the cheapest unlimited Broadband and calls service, and the speed has always been one mBit. (You lucky City dwellers !).

Over the past year though, it has dropped to a quarter of that during evenings and weekends. I challenged their technical support with the poor speed and got the usual "check your connections", "use the main socket" repetitive suggestions.

None of them could comprehend my question of how could it be my equipment at fault if the service speed varied by 400% every day, regular as clockwork.

I finally found the answer on the Talktalk forum, where hundreds of people were experiencing the same problem in rural areas. It is caused by something called "IP Streaming", which Talktalk could do nothing about on lines leased from BT. They have even refunded some user's initial contract cancellation fees, because the speed fell so far short of the already slow copper connections in Rural areas.

I know that Broadband direct from BT doesn't suffer the same speed slump during peak hours in my neighborhood, because I give tech support to several neighbors, who get at least 1.5 mBit 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

TheCommodore
Feb-28-2014 @ 3:56 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 556
Joined: Oct 2006
TheCommodore
          

Add To Ignore List
Strowager,

We used to joke? that we only got the pathetic signal that we did from BT (0.2 to 1.5 Mbps)because someone had been out and joined up all the barbed wire fences across the fields to get us connected.

I switched to Rural Broadband in Kings Lynn www.ruralbroadband.co.uk/contact-us
and yes, you do have to buy the dish and gubbins but I'm now getting a reliable 30 Mbps, independant of the neighbour's kids!

Geof

littlesprite
Feb-28-2014 @ 3:57 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 818
Joined: May 2010
littlesprite
          

Add To Ignore List
Strowager,
I don't know if you've spoken to BT yet but it's worth asking about the open reach box, I'm also on a rural copper cable set-up and achieve a speed of 38.
I have no idea what the box does but it sits between the socket and modem and works miracles.

martin

how can such a sleepy paradise create such passion.

Paladine
Feb-28-2014 @ 4:13 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Mudplug Juggler
Posts: 7765
Joined: Jul 2008
Paladine
          

Add To Ignore List

littlesprite, according to the BT web site the Open Reach box only works with fibre optic cable.

Strowie, don't despair just yet (perhaps later  Smile  ). I'm also 3 miles from my exchange and, with Virgin, rarely got more than 2.5 Mb/s, often below 1 Mb/s. I changed to BT over a year ago and, bearing in mind all estimates of my maximum speed were around 3 Mb/s, I've just done a check and WOW, 4.25 Mb/s.

Is the Better Broadband for Norfolk programme coming to Horning? A 'special' box has just been installed in Catfield and about 90% of households will be able to get Superfast broadband later this year. I'll give you one guess whether I expect to be one of the 10% who won't.

boat-mad
Feb-28-2014 @ 4:28 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Forum Regular
Posts: 608
Joined: Aug 2012
boat-mad
          

Add To Ignore List
This unit supposedly speeds up your connection but you do need the new type BT Master line jack which has the detachable piece at the bottom.
http://www.productsandservices.bt.com/consumerProducts/displayTopic.do?topicId=25075&s_cid=btb_FURL_accelerator



Kind Regards
Alan...
www.mynorfolkbroadsboating.co.uk/

Grendel
Feb-28-2014 @ 4:37 PM                           Permalink
reply
edit
profile
send p.m.
Lives to Post
Posts: 1436
Joined: Jul 2010
Grendel
          

Add To Ignore List
we are connected to open reach, the fibre optic has to be to the nearest cabinet, from there on it can be copper cable ours is about 400 yards of copper cable from the cabinet.
Grendel

we do the impossible every day,
miracles take a little longer

PAGE: 1 2 3

Home Photo Gallery Days Afloat Contact Us
Chat Room Downloads Norfolk Broads @ Amazon Make My Logo
Shops & Businesses Members Gear Norfolk Broads @ EBay Holiday Calendar
Pub Guide Tide Tables SOS List Popular Threads
2017 Calendar Contest Make A Donation Links Hireboat Info
Norfolk Broads @ CafePress FAQ Broads Quiz Forum Events
Advertise With Us Forum Shop Boating Bits Stickys and FAQs Boating Bits Hirecraft List

 

 

 



Copyright © 2005 Y2KInternet, All Rights Reserved.